Caught in the Rain {Valentine Ed.}

Today, I was convinced that I had nothing to wear, like turn your closet on the floor, nothing “I showed up unprepared,” I repeated. So I got creative and this is what I came up with for my Valentine outfit (just in time to pick the boys up from school!). I decided to stay home after all (and not go to class) so that I can spend this night with the family. I will be making a chicken polenta dish. Yum!

Fortunately for me, I wasn’t the only unprepared. The weather was too! Last week, it seemed like Spring. Temps were in the high 70’s. When I woke up and saw the dreary sky, my heart sank. But it also inspired the color palate. So I can’t complain too much!

I love the idea of mixing patterns. Outfits come alive with layers and textures! The plaid wool skirt that I am wearing is actually calf length. (I normally, wear it as a cape.) I didn’t like the proportions so much, so I folded it in half and pinned it in place. What do you think?

I found in my closet:
Navajo Grandpa Cardigan (thrifted)
Sheer Embroidered Blouse (thrifted)
Gap Wrap/Inspired Kilt Skirt (thrifted)
Nine West Red Heels
Vintage Dooney & Bourke Purse (thrifted)
Vintage Belt
H&M Umbrella

Leave a Reply

